Gaslight & Steam

The portfolio and blog of David Bennett

← Back to the book library

The Shadow of the Torturer (The Book of the New Sun, vol. 1)

by Gene Wolfe

Review

The Shadow of the Torturer (The Book of the New Sun, vol. 1)

Reissued in a two-volume set titled, Shadow & Claw and Sword & Citadel, with companion volumes The Urth of the New Son and Castle of the Otter. That last book includes a glossary and other information that may prove helpful in digesting Wolfe’s Book of the New Sun opus. Much as with Eddison’s The Worm Ouroboros, this book thrives on language and the archaic words play a large role in building the richly-tapestried world, giving depth and texture to the desciption of the setting. Fans of Jack Vance’s Dying Earth series or H.P. Lovecraft’s The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath should enjoy this series.

Rating: ★★★★★

Order from Amazon.com.

Find on WorldCat.

Tags:

© 2021 Gaslight & Steam

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑