Gaslight & Steam

The portfolio and blog of David Bennett

← Back to library

Daemon

By Daniel Suarez

Daemon

You can view this book's Amazon detail page here.

Tags:

Started reading:
2009-06-10 19:50:47
Finished reading:
2009-06-15 15:41:37

Review

Rating: 4

A thriller that actually seems to get the technical details right. It moves along at a decent clip without getting bogged down in the details, though, without getting carried away with inconsequential details. It’s not so much cyberpunk, though, as it is a thriller in the vein of Tom Clancy or Michael Crichton, except for cyberpunk’s tendency towards characters as archetypes and cutouts to move the plot along and as agents to explore the ideas presented. I think I would have liked this novel more except for the almost complete lack of empathetic characters and a US-centric bias (to the extent that the info-apocalypse that’s threatened seems to be world-wide despite, as cyberpunk author William Gibson has noted, “…the future is already here. It’s just not very evenly distributed.” But if you like novels about mad supergeniuses threatening (or is it, perhaps, saving) the world from beyond the grave, this novel should be right up your alley. Just be a little wary of the hype.

© 2022 Gaslight & Steam

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑